Historical
Holidays

Historical holidays are more than a possible day off from work and huge retail sales — they highlight the events that led us to living in the society we have today. All 98 of these holidays commemorate a day in history that advanced us further as a civilization, and we celebrate them to remember the past and make sure we don’t repeat the same mistakes in the future.

View: Day Month
DateHolidayCategoryTags
Black History Month, ,
May
Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month,
National Soul Food Month, , , ,
Emotional Wellness Month,
​Global Diversity Awareness Month, , ,
Polish American Heritage Month,
Jan 13 Thursday
Korean American Day,
Jan 15 Saturday
Martin Luther King's Birthday,
Jan 17 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Jan 25 Tuesday
Burns Night,
Jan 27 Thursday
International Holocaust Remembrance Day, , ,
Feb 1 Tuesday
National Freedom Day
Feb 12 Saturday
Abraham Lincoln's Birthday,
Darwin Day, ,
Feb 21 Monday
Presidents Day
Mar 1 Tuesday
Mardi Gras, , , ,
Mar 15 Monday
Ides of March
Mar 16 Wednesday
Purim, , ,
Mar 17 Wednesday
St. Patrick's Day, , ,
Mar 25 Thursday
​Maryland Day
Mar 27 Saturday
Passover, , , ,
Apr 1 Thursday
Maundy Thursday, ,
Apr 2 Friday
Good Friday,
Apr 4 Sunday
Easter, ,
Apr 9 Friday
National Winston Churchill Day
Apr 18 Sunday
National Lineman Appreciation Day,
National Velociraptor Awareness Day, ,
Apr 21 Wednesday
Tiradentes Day,
Apr 23 Friday
St. George's Day,
Apr 25 Sunday
Anzac Day,
May 1 Saturday
May Day, , ,
May 5 Wednesday
Cinco de Mayo, ,
May 15 Saturday
National Armed Forces Day, , , ,
May 22 Saturday
Harvey Milk Day, ,
National Maritime Day, ,
May 23 Sunday
Victoria Day,
May 31 Monday
Memorial Day, , ,
Jun 6 Sunday
D-Day, ,
National Yo-Yo Day, , ,
Queensland Day, ,
Jun 7 Monday
Western Australia Day, ,
Jun 11 Friday
King Kamehameha Day, , ,
Jun 12 Saturday
National Loving Day,
Philippines Independence Day, ,
Jun 14 Monday
Army Birthday,
Flag Day, ,
Jun 19 Saturday
Juneteenth, ,
Jun 21 Monday
National Aboriginal Day, , , ,
Jun 25 Friday
International Day of the Seafarer, ,
Jul 2 Friday
World UFO Day, , ,
Jul 4 Sunday
Independence Day, , , ,
Jul 5 Monday
National Bikini Day, ,
Jul 6 Tuesday
International Kissing Day, , ,
Jul 9 Friday
Nunavut Day, , ,
Jul 12 Monday
Orangemen's Day, , ,
Jul 14 Wednesday
Bastille Day, , ,
National Nude Day, , , , ,
Jul 18 Sunday
Nelson Mandela International Day, ,
Jul 20 Tuesday
National Moon Day, , , ,
Jul 24 Saturday
Asalha Puja, ,
National Amelia Earhart Day, ,
Aug 2 Monday
Civic Holiday, , ,
Heritage Day in Alberta, , ,
Natal Day, , ,
Terry Fox Day, , ,
Aug 4 Wednesday
U.S. Coast Guard Birthday,
Aug 7 Saturday
National Lighthouse Day,
Aug 8 Sunday
Peace Festival in Augsburg, , ,
Aug 11 Wednesday
Mountain Day, , , ,
Aug 14 Saturday
Pakistan Independence Day,
Aug 15 Sunday
Indian Independence Day, , , ,
Aug 16 Monday
Discovery Day,
Aug 19 Thursday
National Aviation Day
Aug 21 Saturday
Ninoy Aquino Day, ,
Aug 24 Tuesday
Pluto Demoted Day,
Aug 26 Thursday
Women’s Equality Day, ,
Aug 29 Sunday
Notting Hill Carnival
Sep 2 Thursday
VJ Day,
Sep 6 Monday
Labor Day , , , ,
Sep 7 Tuesday
Brazil Independence Day, ,
Sep 12 Sunday
Day of the Homeland, ,
Sep 13 Monday
European Heritage Days, ,
Sep 15 Wednesday
Shout of Dolores, , ,
Sep 17 Friday
Constitution Day
Sep 20 Monday
Sukkot,
Sep 23 Thursday
National Dogs in Politics Day, ,
Sep 24 Friday
Heritage Day, , ,
Sep 26 Sunday
Johnny Appleseed Day, ,
Oct 9 Saturday
Leif Erikson Day
World Post Day,
Oct 11 Monday
Columbus Day,
Oct 13 Wednesday
​National Fossil Day,
Navy Birthday,
Oct 24 Sunday
United Nations Day
Nov 10 Wednesday
Marine Corps Birthday,
Nov 11 Thursday
Remembrance Day,
Veterans Day,
Nov 25 Thursday
National Day of Mourning,
Thanksgiving, , , ,
Nov 30 Tuesday
Saint Andrew's Day, , ,
Dec 7 Tuesday
National Pearl Harbor Day of Remembrance,
Dec 10 Friday
Hanukkah, , , ,
Dec 12 Sunday
National Poinsettia Day, , , ,
Dec 13 Monday
U.S. National Guard Birthday,
Dec 15 Wednesday
Bill of Rights Day,
Dec 17 Friday
Wright Brother's Day, ,
Dec 19 Sunday
Goa Liberation Day, ,
National Wreaths Across America Day ,
Dec 22 Wednesday
Forefathers’ Day, ,
Dec 23 Thursday
National Roots Day, ,
Dec 24 Friday
Christmas Eve, , , ,
Dec 25 Saturday
Christmas, , , , ,
Dec 28 Tuesday
Pledge of Allegiance Day, ,
Dec 31 Friday
New Year's Eve,