Historical
Holidays

Historical holidays are more than a possible day off from work and huge retail sales — they highlight the events that led us to living in the society we have today. All 98 of these holidays commemorate a day in history that advanced us further as a civilization, and we celebrate them to remember the past and make sure we don’t repeat the same mistakes in the future.

View: Day Month
DateHolidayCategoryTags
Black History Month,
May
Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month
National Soul Food Month, , ,
Hispanic Heritage Month, ,
Emotional Wellness Month,
​Global Diversity Awareness Month, ,
Polish American Heritage Month
Jan 13 Thursday
Korean American Day
Jan 15 Saturday
Martin Luther King's Birthday,
Jan 17 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Jan 25 Tuesday
Burns Night
Jan 26 Wednesday
Indian Republic Day , ,
Jan 27 Thursday
International Holocaust Remembrance Day, ,
Feb 1 Tuesday
National Freedom Day
Feb 11 Friday
National Foundation Day, ,
Feb 12 Saturday
Abraham Lincoln's Birthday,
Darwin Day,
Feb 21 Monday
Presidents Day
Mar 1 Tuesday
Mardi Gras, , , ,
Mar 15 Tuesday
Ides of March
Mar 16 Wednesday
Purim, ,
Mar 17 Thursday
St. Patrick's Day, , ,
Mar 23 Wednesday
Near Miss Day, ,
Pakistan Day
Mar 25 Friday
​Maryland Day
Mar 30 Wednesday
National I Am In Control Day ,
Apr 1 Friday
National One Cent Day , ,
Apr 3 Saturday
Holy Saturday , ,
Apr 7 Thursday
Yom HaShoah, ,
Apr 9 Saturday
National Winston Churchill Day
Apr 13 Tuesday
Yom HaZikaron,
Apr 14 Thursday
Maundy Thursday, ,
Apr 15 Friday
Good Friday,
Passover, , ,
Apr 17 Sunday
Easter, ,
Apr 18 Monday
National Lineman Appreciation Day,
National Velociraptor Awareness Day,
Apr 21 Thursday
National Yellow Bat Day, ,
Tiradentes Day
Apr 23 Saturday
Shakespeare Day, ,
St. George's Day
Apr 25 Monday
Anzac Day,
National Liberation Day, ,
Apr 26 Tuesday
Richter Scale Day, ,
May 1 Saturday
May Day, , ,
May 5 Wednesday
Cinco de Mayo, ,
Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag), ,
May 15 Saturday
National Armed Forces Day, , , ,
May 19 Thursday
Lag BaOmer, ,
May 22 Saturday
Harvey Milk Day, ,
National Maritime Day, ,
May 24 Monday
Victoria Day,
May 31 Monday
Memorial Day, , ,
Jun 2 Wednesday
Italian Republic Day, ,
Jun 5 Saturday
Constitution Day , ,
Jun 6 Sunday
D-Day, ,
National Yo-Yo Day, , ,
Queensland Day,
Jun 7 Monday
Western Australia Day,
Jun 11 Friday
King Kamehameha Day, ,
Jun 12 Saturday
National Loving Day,
Philippines Independence Day,
Jun 14 Monday
Army Birthday,
Flag Day, ,
Jun 19 Saturday
Juneteenth,
Jun 21 Monday
National Aboriginal Day, , , ,
Jun 25 Friday
International Day of the Seafarer, ,
Jul 1 Thursday
Keti Koti
Jul 2 Friday
World UFO Day, , ,
Jul 4 Sunday
Independence Day, , ,
Jul 5 Monday
National Bikini Day,
Jul 6 Tuesday
International Kissing Day, , ,
Jul 9 Friday
Nunavut Day, ,
Jul 11 Sunday
Day of the Flemish Community,
Jul 12 Monday
Orangemen's Day, ,
Jul 14 Wednesday
Bastille Day, ,
National Nude Day, , , ,
Jul 18 Sunday
Nelson Mandela International Day, ,
Jul 20 Tuesday
National Moon Day, , ,
Jul 24 Saturday
Asalha Puja,
National Amelia Earhart Day, ,
Aug 2 Monday
Civic Holiday, , ,
Heritage Day in Alberta, , ,
Natal Day, , ,
Terry Fox Day, ,
Aug 4 Wednesday
U.S. Coast Guard Birthday,
Aug 7 Saturday
National Lighthouse Day
Aug 8 Sunday
Peace Festival in Augsburg, ,
Aug 11 Wednesday
Mountain Day, , ,
Aug 14 Saturday
Pakistan Independence Day
Aug 15 Sunday
Indian Independence Day, , ,
Liberation Day , ,
Aug 16 Monday
Discovery Day,
Aug 19 Thursday
National Aviation Day
Aug 20 Friday
St. Stephen’s Day, ,
Aug 21 Saturday
Ninoy Aquino Day,
Aug 24 Tuesday
Pluto Demoted Day,
Aug 26 Thursday
Women’s Equality Day, ,
Aug 29 Sunday
Notting Hill Carnival
Aug 31 Tuesday
Independence Day (Malaysia), ,
Sep 2 Thursday
VJ Day,
Sep 6 Monday
Labor Day , , , ,
Sep 7 Tuesday
Brazil Independence Day,
Sep 12 Sunday
Day of the Homeland, ,
Sep 13 Monday
European Heritage Days, ,
Sep 15 Wednesday
Shout of Dolores, , ,
Sep 16 Thursday
Malaysia Day, , ,
Sep 17 Friday
Constitution Day
Sep 18 Saturday
Independence Day, , ,
Sep 20 Monday
Sukkot,
Sep 23 Thursday
National Dogs in Politics Day, ,
Sep 24 Friday
Heritage Day,
Sep 26 Sunday
Johnny Appleseed Day,
Sep 27 Monday
Day of the French Community , ,
Sep 28 Tuesday
St. Wenceslas Day — Statehood Day, ,
Oct 1 Friday
Chinese National Day , ,
Oct 2 Saturday
Mahatma Gandhi Birthday, ,
Oct 3 Sunday
National Unity Day, ,
Oct 9 Saturday
Leif Erikson Day
World Post Day
Oct 11 Monday
Columbus Day,
Indigenous Peoples' Day, ,
Oct 13 Wednesday
​National Fossil Day
Navy Birthday,
Oct 24 Sunday
United Nations Day
Oct 26 Tuesday
Austrian National Day , ,
Oct 28 Thursday
Ohi Day, ,
Nov 5 Friday
Bonfire Night,
Nov 10 Wednesday
Marine Corps Birthday,
Nov 11 Thursday
French Armistice Day,
Remembrance Day,
Veterans Day,
Nov 20 Saturday
Black Consciousness Day ,
Nov 22 Monday
National Sovereignty Day Argentina
Nov 25 Thursday
National Day of Mourning
Thanksgiving, , ,
Nov 28 Sunday
Hanukkah, , , ,
Nov 30 Tuesday
Saint Andrew's Day, , ,
Dec 6 Monday
Independence Day (Finland), ,
Dec 7 Tuesday
National Pearl Harbor Day of Remembrance,
Dec 12 Sunday
National Poinsettia Day, , ,
Dec 13 Monday
U.S. National Guard Birthday,
Dec 15 Wednesday
Bill of Rights Day,
Dec 17 Friday
Wright Brother's Day,
Dec 19 Sunday
Goa Liberation Day, ,
National Wreaths Across America Day ,
Dec 22 Wednesday
Forefathers’ Day, ,
Dec 23 Thursday
National Roots Day, ,
Dec 24 Friday
Christmas Eve, , , ,
Dec 25 Saturday
Christmas, , , , ,
Dec 28 Tuesday
Pledge of Allegiance Day, ,
Dec 31 Friday
New Year's Eve,