Historical
Holidays

Historical holidays are more than a possible day off from work and huge retail sales — they highlight the events that led us to living in the society we have today. All 98 of these holidays commemorate a day in history that advanced us further as a civilization, and we celebrate them to remember the past and make sure we don’t repeat the same mistakes in the future.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 13 Thursday
Korean American Day
Jan 15 Saturday
Martin Luther King's Birthday ,
Jan 17 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Jan 25 Tuesday
Burns Night
Jan 26 Wednesday
Australia Day ,
Indian Republic Day ,
Jan 27 Thursday
International Holocaust Remembrance Day , ,
Feb 1 Tuesday
Black History Month ,
National Freedom Day
Feb 10 Thursday
National Umbrella Day ,
Feb 11 Friday
National Foundation Day ,
Feb 12 Saturday
Abraham Lincoln's Birthday ,
Darwin Day ,
Feb 21 Monday
Presidents' Day
Feb 25 Friday
Yukon Heritage Day ,
Mar 15 Tuesday
Ides of March
Mar 16 Wednesday
Purim , ,
Mar 17 Thursday
St. Patrick's Day , ,
Mar 23 Wednesday
Near Miss Day , ,
Pakistan Day
Mar 25 Friday
​Maryland Day
Mar 30 Wednesday
National I Am In Control Day ,
Apr 1 Friday
National One Cent Day , ,
Apr 3 Saturday
Holy Saturday , ,
Apr 7 Thursday
Yom HaShoah , ,
Apr 9 Saturday
National Winston Churchill Day
Apr 14 Thursday
Maundy Thursday , ,
Apr 15 Friday
Good Friday ,
Passover , ,
Apr 17 Sunday
Easter , ,
Apr 18 Monday
National Lineman Appreciation Day , ,
National Velociraptor Awareness Day , ,
Apr 21 Thursday
National Yellow Bat Day , ,
Tiradentes Day
Apr 23 Saturday
Shakespeare Day , ,
St. George's Day
Apr 25 Monday
Anzac Day ,
National Liberation Day , ,
Apr 26 Tuesday
Richter Scale Day , ,
May 1 Sunday
Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month
May Day , ,
May 3 Tuesday
Yom HaZikaron ,
May 5 Thursday
Cinco de Mayo , ,
Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag) ,
May 19 Thursday
Lag BaOmer , ,
May 21 Saturday
National American Red Cross Founder’s Day ,
May 22 Sunday
Harvey Milk Day , ,
National Maritime Day , ,
May 23 Monday
Victoria Day ,
May 24 Tuesday
National Wyoming Day , ,
May 26 Thursday
National Sorry Day
May 30 Monday
Memorial Day , ,
Jun 1 Wednesday
Dinosaur Day , ,
Jun 2 Thursday
Republic Day Italy ,
Spring Bank Holiday ,
Jun 5 Sunday
Constitution Day ,
Jun 6 Monday
D-Day , ,
National Yo-Yo Day , ,
Queensland Day ,
Western Australia Day
Jun 7 Tuesday
Daniel Boone Day , ,
Jun 8 Wednesday
Bounty Day , ,
Jun 11 Saturday
King Kamehameha Day , ,
Jun 12 Sunday
National Loving Day ,
Philippines Independence Day ,
Jun 14 Tuesday
Army Birthday ,
Flag Day , ,
Jun 19 Sunday
Juneteenth ,
Jun 21 Tuesday
Canada's National Indigenous Peoples Day , ,
Jun 25 Saturday
International Day of the Seafarer , ,
Jul 1 Friday
Keti Koti
Jul 4 Monday
Alice in Wonderland Day , ,
Independence Day , ,
Jul 5 Tuesday
National Bikini Day ,
Jul 9 Saturday
Martyrdom of the Bab , ,
Nunavut Day , ,
Jul 10 Sunday
National Clerihew Day , ,
Jul 11 Monday
Bowdler's Day , ,
Day of the Flemish Community
Jul 12 Tuesday
Orangemen's Day , ,
Jul 13 Wednesday
Asalha Puja ,
Jul 14 Thursday
Bastille Day , ,
Jul 17 Sunday
Wrong Way Corrigan Day , ,
Jul 18 Monday
Nelson Mandela International Day
Jul 20 Wednesday
National Moon Day , ,
Jul 24 Sunday
National Amelia Earhart Day , ,
Pioneer Day ,
Jul 27 Wednesday
National Korean War Veterans Armistice Day , ,
Aug 1 Monday
Civic Holiday , ,
Heritage Day in Alberta , ,
Natal Day , ,
Terry Fox Day , ,
Aug 4 Thursday
U.S. Coast Guard Birthday ,
Aug 7 Sunday
National Lighthouse Day
Aug 8 Monday
Peace Festival in Augsburg , ,
Aug 11 Thursday
Mountain Day , ,
Aug 14 Sunday
Pakistan Independence Day
Aug 15 Monday
Discovery Day ,
Indian Independence Day , ,
Liberation Day , ,
Aug 16 Tuesday
National Airborne Day ,
Aug 19 Friday
National Aviation Day
Aug 20 Saturday
St. Stephen’s Day ,
Aug 21 Sunday
Ninoy Aquino Day ,
Aug 24 Wednesday
Pluto Demoted Day ,
Aug 26 Friday
Women’s Equality Day , ,
Aug 28 Sunday
Notting Hill Carnival
Aug 29 Monday
Individual Rights Day , ,
Aug 31 Wednesday
Independence Day ,
Sep 1 Thursday
Bourbon Heritage Month , ,
Sep 2 Friday
VJ Day ,
Sep 7 Wednesday
Brazil Independence Day ,
Grandma Moses Day ,
Sep 11 Sunday
Day of the Homeland , ,
Sep 13 Tuesday
European Heritage Days ,
Uncle Sam Day , ,
Sep 15 Thursday
Hispanic Heritage Month ,
Shout of Dolores , ,
Sep 16 Friday
Malaysia Day , ,
Mayflower Day ,
Sep 17 Saturday
Constitution Day
Sep 18 Sunday
Independence Day , ,
Sep 22 Thursday
Chainmail Day ,
Sep 23 Friday
National Dogs in Politics Day , ,
Native American Day ,
Sep 24 Saturday
Heritage Day ,
Sep 26 Monday
Johnny Appleseed Day ,
Sep 27 Tuesday
Ancestor Appreciation Day ,
Day of the French Community ,
Sep 28 Wednesday
St. Wenceslas Day — Statehood Day , ,
Oct 1 Friday
Emotional Wellness Month ,
​Global Diversity Awareness Month , ,
Italian-American Heritage and Culture Month , ,
LGBTQ+ History Month , ,
Polish American Heritage Month
Chinese National Day , ,
Model T Day ,
Oct 2 Saturday
Mahatma Gandhi Birthday , ,
Oct 3 Sunday
National Unity Day , ,
Oct 4 Monday
Labour Day , ,
World Architecture Day , ,
Oct 6 Wednesday
NATIONAL GERMAN-AMERICAN DAY , ,
Oct 8 Friday
Alvin C. York Day , ,
Oct 9 Saturday
Leif Erikson Day
Sukkot ,
World Post Day
Oct 11 Monday
Columbus Day
General Pulaski Memorial Day ,
Indigenous Peoples' Day , ,
Oct 13 Wednesday
International Top Spinning Day , ,
​National Fossil Day ,
Navy Birthday ,
Oct 17 Sunday
Black Poetry Day , ,
Oct 24 Sunday
United Nations Day
Oct 26 Tuesday
Austrian National Day , ,
Oct 27 Wednesday
World Day for Audiovisual Heritage , ,
Oct 28 Thursday
Ohi Day , ,
Oct 31 Sunday
Girl Scout Founder’s Day , ,
Reformation Day ,
Nov 1 Monday
Haryana Day , ,
Nov 5 Friday
Bonfire Night ,
Nov 9 Tuesday
World Freedom Day , ,
Nov 10 Wednesday
Marine Corps Birthday ,
Nov 11 Thursday
French Armistice Day ,
Remembrance Day ,
Remembrance Day Australia , ,
Veterans Day ,
Nov 20 Saturday
Black Consciousness Day ,
Nov 22 Monday
National Sovereignty Day Argentina
Nov 25 Thursday
National Day of Mourning
Nov 28 Sunday
Hanukkah , ,
Nov 30 Tuesday
St. Andrew's Day , ,
Dec 6 Monday
Independence Day , ,
Dec 7 Tuesday
National Pearl Harbor Day of Remembrance ,
Dec 12 Sunday
National Poinsettia Day , ,
Dec 13 Monday
U.S. National Guard Birthday ,
Dec 15 Wednesday
Bill of Rights Day ,
Dec 17 Friday
Wright Brother's Day , ,
Dec 18 Saturday
National Wreaths Across America Day ,
Dec 19 Sunday
Goa Liberation Day , ,
Dec 22 Wednesday
Forefathers’ Day , ,
Dec 23 Thursday
National Roots Day , ,
Dec 28 Tuesday
Pledge of Allegiance Day ,
Dec 31 Friday
New Year's Eve ,