Animal
Holidays

Whether we’re celebrating our cute and fluffy (and sometimes hairless) dogs, cats, reptiles, and hedgehogs that we spoil at home or the raccoons, squirrels, bisons, and insects that we admire from afar, all animals deserve their own special moment. Luckily, we’ve got a few days, weeks, and months set aside specifically to show our furry, scaly, feathery, and spiky friends some extra love.

363 Shares
363 Shares
View: Day Week Month
DateHolidayCategoryTags
National Train Your Dog Month ,
Unchain a Dog Month , ,
Walk Your Dog Month , ,
Dog Training Education Month , ,
National Cat Health Month , ,
Pet Dental Health Month , ,
Responsible Pet Owners Month , ,
Spay/Neuter Awareness Month , ,
Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Month , ,
May
National Pet Month , ,
National Adopt A Cat Month , ,
National Zoo and Aquarium Month , ,
National Hug Your Cat Month , ,
Animal Pain Awareness Month ,
Adopt a Shelter Dog Month
National Prevent a Litter Month ,
Jan 2 Sunday
Happy Mew Year for Cats Day ,
Jan 5 Wednesday
National Bird Day ,
Jan 14 Friday
National Dress Up Your Pet Day , ,
Jan 20 Thursday
National Penguin Day
Jan 21 Friday
National Squirrel Appreciation Day ,
Jan 22 Saturday
National Answer Your Cat's Questions Day , ,
Feb 2 Wednesday
National Hedgehog Day
Feb 3 Thursday
Doggy Date Night , ,
National Golden Retriever Day ,
Feb 20 Sunday
National Love Your Pet Day ,
Feb 22 Tuesday
National Walking the Dog Day , ,
World Spay Day , ,
Feb 23 Wednesday
International Dog Biscuit Appreciation Day , ,
National Dog Biscuit Day , ,
Mar 3 Thursday
National If Pets Had Thumbs Day ,
Mar 13 Sunday
National K9 Veterans Day ,
Mar 16 Wednesday
National Panda Day ,
Mar 23 Wednesday
National Puppy Day ,
Mar 28 Monday
Respect Your Cat Day
Mar 31 Thursday
Manatee Appreciation Day , ,
Apr 6 Wednesday
National Siamese Cat Day ,
Apr 9 Saturday
National Unicorn Day
Apr 10 Sunday
National Farm Animals Day
National Hug Your Dog Day ,
Apr 11 Monday
National Pet Day , ,
Apr 17 Sunday
International Bat Appreciation Day
Apr 21 Thursday
National Bulldogs Are Beautiful Day ,
Apr 24 Sunday
National Pet Parents Day , ,
Apr 26 Tuesday
National Help A Horse Day , ,
Apr 27 Wednesday
International Guide Dog Day , ,
Apr 28 Thursday
National Kids and Pets Day , ,
Apr 29 Friday
National Hairball Awareness Day , ,
Apr 30 Saturday
National Adopt A Shelter Pet Day , ,
May 13 Friday
National Frog Jumping Day , ,
May 16 Monday
National Sea Monkey Day , ,
May 20 Friday
National Rescue Dog Day ,
May 23 Monday
World Turtle Day , ,
Jun 1 Wednesday
Dinosaur Day , ,
Jun 4 Saturday
International Corgi Day , ,
National Black Bear Day , ,
National Hug Your Cat Day , ,
Jun 20 Monday
National Take Your Cat to Work Day , ,
Ugliest Dog Day , ,
Jun 24 Friday
National Take Your Dog to Work Day , ,
Jun 25 Saturday
National Catfish Day , ,
Jul 1 Friday
American Zoo Day , ,
Dog House Repair Month , ,
Jul 10 Sunday
National Kitten Day , ,
Jul 11 Monday
All American Pet Photo Day , ,
Jul 12 Tuesday
Cow Appreciation Day ,
Jul 14 Thursday
Shark Awareness Day , ,
Jul 15 Friday
National I Love Horses Day , ,
National Pet Fire Safety Day , ,
Jul 16 Saturday
Guinea Pig Appreciation Day , ,
World Snake Day , ,
Jul 29 Friday
International Tiger Day ,
Jul 31 Sunday
National Mutt Day , ,
Aug 1 Monday
DOGust 1st: Universal Birthday for Shelter Dogs , ,
Aug 5 Friday
Work Like a Dog Day , ,
Aug 8 Monday
International Cat Day ,
Aug 10 Wednesday
National Spoil Your Dog Day ,
Aug 12 Friday
World Elephant Day , ,
Aug 17 Wednesday
National Black Cat Appreciation Day
Aug 20 Saturday
International Homeless Animals Day , ,
Aug 22 Monday
National Take Your Cat to the Vet Day
Aug 26 Friday
National Dog Day , ,
Aug 28 Sunday
Rainbow Bridge Remembrance Day ,
Aug 30 Tuesday
International Whale Shark Day , ,
National Holistic Pet Day
Sep 4 Saturday
​National Wildlife Day
Sep 8 Wednesday
National Iguana Awareness Day , ,
Sep 12 Sunday
National Pet Memorial Day , ,
Sep 14 Tuesday
Hug Your Hound Day , ,
Sep 17 Friday
National Pet Bird Day , ,
Sep 18 Saturday
International Red Panda Day , ,
Puppy Mill Awareness Day , ,
Responsible Dog Ownership Day , ,
Sep 19 Sunday
National Meow Like a Pirate Day
Sep 23 Thursday
National Dogs in Politics Day , ,
Remember Me Thursday , ,
Sep 24 Friday
Bluebird of Happiness Day , ,
Save The Koala Day , ,
Sep 25 Saturday
Fish Amnesty Day , ,
National Bunny Day
Sep 28 Tuesday
World Rabies Day
Oct 1 Friday
National Black Dog Day ,
National Fire Pup Day , ,
Oct 4 Monday
World Animal Day , ,
Oct 13 Wednesday
National Pet Obesity Day
Oct 16 Saturday
Global Cat Day ,
National Feral Cat Day
National Fetch Day ,
Oct 20 Wednesday
International Sloth Day
Oct 21 Thursday
National Reptile Awareness Day
National Reptile Day
Oct 23 Saturday
National Pit Bull Awareness Day ,
Oct 27 Wednesday
National Black Cat Day ,
Oct 29 Friday
National Cat Day ,
Nov 1 Monday
National Cook For Your Pets Day , ,
Nov 6 Saturday
National Bison Day
Nov 7 Sunday
National Canine Lymphoma Awareness Day
Dec 2 Thursday
National Mutt Day ,
Dec 9 Thursday
National Llama Day
Dec 10 Friday
International Animal Rights Day , ,
Dec 13 Monday
National Horse Day ,
Apr 5-9
National Wildlife Week , ,
Apr 10-16
Animal Care and Control Appreciation Week ,
National Dog Bite Prevention Week , ,
May 1-7
National Pet Week , ,
Jun 5-11
Pet Appreciation Week , ,
Jun 19-25
Carpenter Ant Awareness Week ,
Jun 20-26
National Pollinator Week , ,
Jul 4-10
National Farriers Week ,
Jul 18-24
National Zoo Keeper Week ,
Jul 23-31
National Moth Week ,
Aug 7-13
International Assistance Dog Week
Aug 27-28
International Bat Night , ,
Sep 19-25
​Deaf Dog Awareness Week , ,