Federal
Holidays

Let’s hear it for federal holidays! Why? Because you most likely have the day off because of them, especially if you work in a federal building such as the post office or the library. Federal holidays come straight from the top — only Congress can designate one. In fact, Congress has been in the holiday making game since 1870, when they created the idea of a federal holiday to standardize existing holiday practices “in every State of the Union.” And now years later, we’re able to celebrate over 36 federal holidays throughout the year.

View: Day Month
DateHolidayCategoryTags
May
Military Appreciation Month
Jan 15 Saturday
Martin Luther King's Birthday,
Jan 17 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Jan 26 Wednesday
Indian Republic Day , ,
Jan 27 Thursday
International Holocaust Remembrance Day, ,
Feb 1 Tuesday
National Freedom Day
Feb 5 Saturday
Kashmir Solidarity Day , ,
Feb 6 Sunday
National Lame Duck Day, ,
Feb 11 Friday
National Foundation Day, ,
Feb 12 Saturday
Abraham Lincoln's Birthday,
Feb 21 Monday
Nova Scotia Heritage Day , ,
Presidents' Day
Mar 1 Tuesday
St. David's Day, ,
Mar 29 Tuesday
National Vietnam War Veterans Day ,
Apr 9 Saturday
National Winston Churchill Day
Apr 21 Thursday
National Yellow Bat Day, ,
Apr 23 Saturday
St. George's Day
Apr 25 Monday
Anzac Day,
National Liberation Day, ,
May 1 Sunday
May Day, , ,
National Loyalty Day
Silver Star Service Banner Day, ,
May 3 Tuesday
Constitution Memorial Day, ,
May 5 Thursday
Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag), ,
May 15 Sunday
Peace Officers Memorial Day , ,
May 17 Tuesday
National Idaho Day, ,
May 20 Friday
National Defense Transportation Day, ,
May 22 Sunday
Harvey Milk Day, ,
National Maritime Day, ,
May 24 Tuesday
National Wyoming Day, ,
May 25 Wednesday
May Revolution Day , ,
May 30 Monday
Memorial Day, , ,
May 31 Tuesday
National Utah Day, ,
Jun 2 Wednesday
Republic Day Italy, ,
Jun 5 Saturday
Constitution Day , ,
Jun 14 Monday
Army Birthday,
Flag Day, ,
Jun 20 Sunday
West Virginia Day, ,
Jun 25 Friday
International Day of the Seafarer, ,
Jul 1 Thursday
Canada Day,
Jul 4 Sunday
Independence Day, , ,
Jul 9 Friday
Nunavut Day, ,
Jul 28 Wednesday
Buffalo Soldiers Day, ,
Aug 2 Monday
Civic Holiday, , ,
Natal Day, , ,
New Brunswick Day, ,
New South Wales Bank Holiday
Aug 4 Wednesday
U.S. Coast Guard Birthday,
Aug 7 Saturday
Purple Heart Day,
Aug 15 Sunday
Liberation Day , ,
Aug 16 Monday
National Airborne Day
Aug 20 Friday
St. Stephen’s Day, ,
Aug 31 Tuesday
Independence Day, ,
Sep 2 Thursday
VJ Day,
Sep 6 Monday
Labor Day , , , ,
Sep 17 Friday
Constitution Day
Sep 18 Saturday
Independence Day, , ,
Oct 3 Sunday
National Unity Day, ,
Oct 9 Saturday
World Post Day
Oct 11 Monday
Columbus Day,
Oct 13 Wednesday
Navy Birthday,
Oct 23 Saturday
Hungarian Republic Day
Oct 24 Sunday
United Nations Day
Oct 26 Tuesday
Austrian National Day , ,
Oct 28 Thursday
Ohi Day, ,
Nov 2 Tuesday
Recreation Day
Nov 10 Wednesday
Forget Me Not Day, ,
Marine Corps Birthday,
Nov 11 Thursday
Remembrance Day,
Remembrance Day Australia, ,
Veterans Day,
Nov 25 Thursday
Thanksgiving, , ,
Nov 26 Friday
National Law Day
Dec 2 Thursday
United Arab Emirates National Day,
Dec 5 Sunday
Flag Day of India
Dec 6 Monday
Independence Day, ,
Dec 7 Tuesday
National Pearl Harbor Day of Remembrance,
Dec 13 Monday
U.S. National Guard Birthday,
Dec 15 Wednesday
Bill of Rights Day,
Dec 16 Thursday
Day of Reconciliation
Dec 22 Wednesday
Forefathers’ Day, ,
Dec 28 Tuesday
Pledge of Allegiance Day, ,