Civic
Holidays

While many civic holidays are particular to a town or a greater region and aren’t typically celebrated at a large scale, it’s important to recognize how meaningful these celebrations or occasions are to the communities they represent. With nearly 30 opportunities to grow awareness and draw recognition with more being added all the time, be sure to let us know about local or municipal civic holidays that are celebrated in your area.

Some of these holidays honor people in essential roles, like nurses, teachers, and the Armed Forces, while others shed light on particular groups that came before us, like National Aboriginal Day. What’s defined as a civic holiday is not always crystal clear, but those closest to them know just how important these days are.

View: Day Month
DateHolidayCategoryTags
Keep America Beautiful Month, ,
​Global Diversity Awareness Month, , ,
​Italian-American Heritage Month,
Mar 19 Friday
Red Nose Day, ,
May 1 Saturday
May Day, , ,
May 4 Tuesday
National Teacher Day, ,
May 6 Thursday
National Nurses Day,
May 15 Saturday
National Armed Forces Day, , , ,
May 22 Saturday
Harvey Milk Day, ,
National Maritime Day, ,
Jun 6 Sunday
Queensland Day, ,
Jun 14 Monday
Flag Day, ,
Jun 21 Monday
National Aboriginal Day, , , ,
Jun 24 Thursday
Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day, , ,
Jun 25 Friday
International Day of the Seafarer, ,
Jul 4 Sunday
Independence Day, , , ,
Aug 2 Monday
New Brunswick Day, , ,
Aug 15 Sunday
Indian Independence Day, , , ,
Aug 21 Saturday
Ninoy Aquino Day, ,
Aug 26 Thursday
Women’s Equality Day, ,
Sep 5 Sunday
International Day of Charity,
Sep 6 Monday
Labor Day , , , ,
Sep 11 Saturday
Patriot Day,
Sep 25 Saturday
National Public Lands Day
Sep 27 Monday
National Crush Day
Sep 28 Tuesday
National Neighbor Day
​National Voter Registration Day
Oct 28 Thursday
​National First Responders Day, ,
​National Immigrants Day
Nov 7 Sunday
Daylight Saving Day
Nov 15 Monday
National Philanthropy Day,
Dec 16 Thursday
Day of Reconciliation