Civic
Holidays

While many civic holidays are particular to a town or a greater region and aren’t typically celebrated at a large scale, it’s important to recognize how meaningful these celebrations or occasions are to the communities they represent. With nearly 30 opportunities to grow awareness and draw recognition with more being added all the time, be sure to let us know about local or municipal civic holidays that are celebrated in your area.

Some of these holidays honor people in essential roles, like nurses, teachers, and the Armed Forces, while others shed light on particular groups that came before us, like National Aboriginal Day. What’s defined as a civic holiday is not always crystal clear, but those closest to them know just how important these days are.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Feb 6 Sunday
National Lame Duck Day ,
Feb 11 Friday
National Foundation Day ,
Feb 21 Monday
Nova Scotia Heritage Day , ,
Mar 1 Tuesday
St. David's Day ,
Mar 5 Saturday
St. Piran’s Day , ,
Mar 8 Tuesday
Commonwealth Day ,
Mar 19 Friday
Red Nose Day , ,
Mar 27 Sunday
British Summer Time Begins , ,
Apr 1 Friday
Keep America Beautiful Month ,
Apr 6 Wednesday
National Tartan Day ,
Apr 25 Monday
National Liberation Day , ,
May 1 Sunday
May Day , ,
National Loyalty Day , ,
Silver Star Service Banner Day , ,
May 3 Tuesday
Constitution Memorial Day ,
May 5 Thursday
Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag) ,
May 6 Friday
National Nurses Day ,
May 10 Tuesday
National Salvation Army Week , ,
May 16 Monday
National Do Something Good for Your Neighbor Day , ,
May 17 Tuesday
National Idaho Day , ,
May 22 Sunday
Harvey Milk Day , ,
National Maritime Day , ,
May 25 Wednesday
May Revolution Day ,
May 31 Tuesday
National Utah Day , ,
Jun 5 Sunday
Community Health Improvement Week ,
Jun 6 Monday
D-Day , ,
Queensland Day ,
Jun 8 Wednesday
Bounty Day , ,
Jun 12 Sunday
National Flag Week , ,
Jun 14 Tuesday
Flag Day , ,
Jun 20 Monday
West Virginia Day ,
Jun 21 Tuesday
Canada's National Indigenous Peoples Day , ,
Jun 25 Saturday
International Day of the Seafarer , ,
Jul 1 Friday
ZIP Code Day , ,
Jul 4 Monday
Independence Day , ,
Indivisible Day , ,
Jul 28 Thursday
Buffalo Soldiers Day , ,
Aug 1 Monday
New Brunswick Day , ,
Aug 15 Monday
Indian Independence Day , ,
Liberation Day , ,
Aug 20 Saturday
St. Stephen’s Day ,
Aug 21 Sunday
Ninoy Aquino Day ,
Aug 26 Friday
Women’s Equality Day , ,
Aug 31 Wednesday
Independence Day ,
Sep 5 Monday
International Day of Charity ,
Labor Day , ,
Sep 7 Tuesday
Texas Energy Savings Day , ,
Sep 11 Sunday
Patriot Day ,
Sep 22 Thursday
Fall Equinox , ,
Sep 24 Saturday
National Public Lands Day ,
Sep 27 Tuesday
Day of the French Community ,
National Crush Day ,
​National Voter Registration Day
Sep 28 Wednesday
National Neighbor Day
St. Wenceslas Day — Statehood Day , ,
Oct 1 Friday
​Global Diversity Awareness Month , ,
​Italian-American Heritage Month
Chinese National Day , ,
Oct 4 Monday
Labour Day , ,
Oct 8 Friday
Indian Air Force Day , ,
Oct 12 Tuesday
National Freethought Day ,
Oct 20 Wednesday
Support Your Local Chamber of Commerce Day ,
Oct 26 Tuesday
Austrian National Day , ,
Oct 28 Thursday
​National First Responders Day ,
​National Immigrants Day
Ohi Day , ,
Oct 30 Saturday
National Speak Up For Service Day , ,
Nov 2 Tuesday
Election Day ,
Nov 7 Sunday
Daylight Saving Day
Nov 10 Wednesday
Forget Me Not Day , ,
Nov 15 Monday
National Philanthropy Day ,
Dec 16 Thursday
Day of Reconciliation