Hindu Holidays

Hinduism is a worldwide religion, with a variety of holidays and festivals celebrated across the lunar calendar. Hindu festivals are known by the Sanskrit word “Utsava”—which means to grow upward. They are celebrated with feasts, offerings, fasts, vigils, or offerings to deities—but all relate back to the Hindu pantheon.

209 Shares
209 Shares
DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 13 Friday
Lohri , ,
Jan 15 Sunday
Makar Sankranti , ,
Pongal , ,
Jan 25 Wednesday
Vasant Panchami ,
Jan 26 Thursday
Basant Panchami , ,
Feb 5 Sunday
Maghi Purnima , ,
Thaipoosam Cavadee , ,
Thaipusam , ,
Feb 18 Saturday
Maha Shivaratri ,
Maha Shivratri , ,
Maja Shivaratri , ,
Mar 7 Tuesday
Dolyatra , ,
Holika Dahana , ,
Suriname Phagwah , ,
Mar 8 Wednesday
Holi , ,
Mar 22 Wednesday
Ougadi , ,
Mar 30 Thursday
Ram Navami Day , ,
Ram Navami , ,
Apr 13 Thursday
Songkran Water Festival , ,
May 1 Monday
National Mantra Day , ,
May 5 Friday
Vesak , ,
May 19 Friday
Savitri Amavasya , ,
Jun 13 Tuesday
Maharana Pratap Jayanti , ,
Jun 20 Tuesday
Rath Yatra , ,
Jun 25 Sunday
Bonalu , ,
Jul 11 Tuesday
Ker Puja , ,
Behdienkhlam in Meghalaya ,
Jul 17 Monday
U Tirot Sing Day , , ,
Jul 26 Wednesday
Kharchi Puja , ,
Aug 13 Sunday
Esala Perahera ,
Aug 20 Sunday
Onam ,
Aug 21 Monday
Nag Panchami ,
Aug 30 Wednesday
Raksha Bandhan ,
Sep 18 Monday
Ganesh Chaturthi ,
Sep 29 Friday
Pitru Paksha ,
Oct 15 Sunday
Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti ,
Mysore Dasara
Navratri ,
Oct 21 Saturday
Maha Saptami , ,
Nepal: Phulpati , ,
Oct 22 Sunday
Durga Ashtami ,
Nepal: Maha Ashtami ,
Durga Puja
Oct 23 Monday
Mahanavami
Navami of Durga Puja ,
Nepal: Maha Navami , ,
Oct 24 Tuesday
Dashain , ,
Diwali
Vijayadashami ,
Oct 28 Saturday
Valmiki Jayanti , ,
Nov 1 Wednesday
Karva Chauth ,
Nov 9 Thursday
Chhath Puja , ,
Nov 12 Sunday
Kali Puja ,
Lakshmi Puja , ,
Naraka Chaturdashi
Nov 15 Wednesday
Govardhan Puja ,
Nov 16 Thursday
Bhai Dooj
Nov 20 Monday
Pushkar Camel Fair Pushkar , ,
Nov 26 Sunday
Dev Deepawali ,