Buddhist
Holidays

The Buddhist traditions celebrates multiple holidays and festivals—all working on the lunar calendar. Some festivals commemorate the Buddha’s teachings, while others tie into local or national customs. But all offer an opportunity for Buddhists to reflect on the themes and practices of their faith.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 14 Tuesday
Mahayana New Year ,
Feb 12 Wednesday
Lantern Festival Taiwan ,
Navam Full Moon Poya Day ,
Feb 13 Thursday
Makha Bucha Day , ,
Feb 15 Saturday
Parinirvana Day (Nirvana Day)
Apr 13 Sunday
Songkran Water Festival , ,
Theravada New Year ,
May 1 Thursday
National Day of Prayer , ,
National Mantra Day , ,
May 5 Monday
Buddha Day
May 11 Sunday
Buddha Purnima , ,
May 12 Monday
Day of Vesak , ,
Vesak , ,
Jun 10 Tuesday
Poson Festival ,
Jul 5 Saturday
Guru Rinpoche Day
Jul 9 Tuesday
Drukpa Tsheshi , ,
Jul 10 Wednesday
First Sermon Of Lord Buddha ,
Jul 20 Saturday
Asahna Bucha Day , ,
Full Moon Day of Waso
Jul 21 Sunday
Buddhist Lent ,
Asalha Puja ,
Aug 18 Sunday
Ullambana ,
Oct 1 Tuesday
Pchum Ben
Oct 16 Wednesday
Myanmar Full Moon of Thadingyut ,
Oct 17 Thursday
Vap Full Moon Poya Day ,
Oct 18 Friday
Lao: End of Buddhist Lent Day , ,
Nov 15 Friday
Yi Peng Festival , , ,
Dec 6 Friday
King Bhumibol’s Birthday ,
Dec 7 Saturday
Unduvap Full Moon Poya ,
Dec 8 Sunday
Bodhi Day , ,