Jewish
Holidays

Jewish festivals occur on the Hebrew calendar, which is based on both the sun and moon’s cycles—vs. the Gregorian calendar, which is based solely on the sun’s. Jewish holidays encompass biblical festivals, seasonal milestones, historical celebrations, and rabbinic observations.

There are multiple terms in the Hebrew language to distinguish between holidays—Festival Days refer to the six Biblically-mandated festival dates, while High Holy Days refer to Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashanah, and the Three Pilgrimage Festivals commemorate historical Jewish migrations.

It is also important to note that Jewish “holidays” begin and end at sunset, rather than at midnight—as in the Gregorian calendar.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 16 Monday
Tu BiShvat , ,
Jan 27 Friday
Auschwitz Liberation Day , ,
Holocaust Memorial Day , ,
International Holocaust Remembrance Day , ,
Feb 9 Thursday
National Bagel and Lox Day ,
Mar 6 Monday
Fast of Esther ,
Purim , ,
Apr 5 Wednesday
Passover , ,
Pesach , ,
Apr 17 Monday
Yom HaShoah , ,
May 1 Monday
Jewish American Heritage Month , ,
May 9 Tuesday
Lag BaOmer , ,
Jun 4 Saturday
Erev Shavuot
Shavuot
Jul 17 Sunday
Fast of Shiva Asar B'Tammuz , ,
Aug 5 Friday
Tisha B'Av ,
Aug 11 Thursday
Tu B'Av ,
Aug 18 Wednesday
Ashura ,
Sep 25 Sunday
Rosh Hashanah
Sep 28 Wednesday
Gedaliah Fast
Oct 5 Wednesday
Yom Kippur
Oct 9 Sunday
Sukkot ,
Oct 15 Saturday
Hoshana Rabbah
Oct 17 Monday
Shemini Atzeret
Oct 18 Tuesday
Simchat Torah
Nov 22 Tuesday
Sigd Day , ,
Dec 18 Sunday
Hanukkah , ,