Jewish
Holidays

Jewish festivals occur on the Hebrew calendar, which is based on both the sun and moon’s cycles—vs. the Gregorian calendar, which is based solely on the sun’s. Jewish holidays encompass biblical festivals, seasonal milestones, historical celebrations, and rabbinic observations.

There are multiple terms in the Hebrew language to distinguish between holidays—Festival Days refer to the six Biblically-mandated festival dates, while High Holy Days refer to Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashanah, and the Three Pilgrimage Festivals commemorate historical Jewish migrations.

It is also important to note that Jewish “holidays” begin and end at sunset, rather than at midnight—as in the Gregorian calendar.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 16 Monday
Tu BiShvat , ,
Jan 27 Friday
Auschwitz Liberation Day , ,
Holocaust Memorial Day , ,
International Holocaust Remembrance Day , ,
Feb 9 Thursday
National Bagel and Lox Day ,
Feb 10 Friday
Scout Sabbath ,
Feb 26 Sunday
Jewish Book Week , ,
Mar 6 Monday
Fast of Esther ,
Purim , ,
Mar 7 Tuesday
Erev Purim ,
Apr 5 Wednesday
Passover , ,
Pesach , ,
Apr 13 Thursday
Last day of Passover ,
Apr 17 Monday
Yom HaShoah , ,
Apr 25 Tuesday
Israel Independence Day , ,
Yom HaAtzmaut , ,
May 1 Monday
Jewish American Heritage Month , ,
May 4 Thursday
Pesach Sheni ,
May 9 Tuesday
Lag BaOmer , ,
May 25 Thursday
Erev Shavuot
Shavuot
Jun 5 Monday
Jerusalem Day
Jul 6 Thursday
Fast of Tammuz , ,
Jul 17 Monday
Fast of Shiva Asar B'Tammuz , ,
Jul 26 Wednesday
Tisha B'Av ,
Jul 27 Thursday
Ashura ,
Fast of Ninth of Av , ,
Aug 1 Tuesday
Tu B'Av ,
Sep 15 Friday
Rosh Hashanah
Sep 18 Monday
Gedaliah Fast
Oct 5 Wednesday
Yom Kippur
Oct 9 Sunday
Sukkot ,
Oct 15 Saturday
Hoshana Rabbah
Oct 17 Monday
Shemini Atzeret
Oct 18 Tuesday
Simchat Torah
Nov 22 Tuesday
Sigd Day , ,
Dec 18 Sunday
Chanukah Ends
Hanukkah , ,
Hanukkah Begins ,