Got an idea for a holiday? Send it to us

Submit Now

Temotu Province Day – June 8, 2025

Temotu Province Day is observed annually on June 8 in the Solomon Islands to celebrate the moment Temotu Province attained provincial government status in 1984. A flag-raising ceremony and other festivities mark the occasion. Formerly known as Santa Cruz Islands Province, it comprises two chains of islands parallel to each other. The islands, with their beautiful white sandy beaches, have a rich history for visitors to explore. The population of Temotu Province is mainly Melanesian, though some of its inhabitants are also Polynesian

History of Temotu Province Day

Temotu Province is the easternmost province of the Solomon Islands. Formerly known as Santa Cruz Islands Province, it comprises two chains of islands parallel to each other. Spanish explorer Álvaro de Mendaña de Neira arrived in Temotu in 1595 during his second Pacific expedition and renamed the island, Santa Cruz. Before that, inhabitants of this region of Solomon Islands were largely navigators, known to have built ocean-going canoes called tepukei. They were able to keep traditional navigation techniques well into the 20th century.

Temotu became a part of the British Protectorate of the Solomon Islands in 1899. The country gained independence from the British in 1978. The city of Honiara functioned as the national capital and continues to do so today. During the Second World War, a major naval engagement called the Battle of the Santa Cruz Islands was fought in the northern parts of Temotu Province between the U.S. Navy and the Imperial Japanese Navy, where both sides claimed victory. Seaplanes were based in Graciosa Bay, with some even having sunk there. In the aftermath of the Pacific War, chemical munitions stored on Vanikoro Island were not completely removed until as late as the 1990s.

The Island of Santa Cruz (Nendo) is the province’s largest island. The provincial capital Lata is located on the island of Santa Cruz and is the province’s largest urban center. The population of Temotu Province is majorly Melanesian, though some of the inhabitants of Tikopia, Anuta, the Duff Islands, and a few of the Reef Islands are Polynesians. The languages spoken in this region are the Temotu languages, a linguistic subgroup within the Oceanic family of languages. is quite diverse for the small land area encompassed.

Temotu Province Day timeline

The Spanish Arrive

Spanish explorer Álvaro de Mendaña de Neira arrives in the Solomon Islands.

The Spanish Rename It

Spanish explorer Álvaro de Mendaña de Neira arrives in the Temotu Province and names it the Santa Cruz Islands.

Independence is Declared

The Solomon Islands declare independence from the British.

Temotu Province

Administrative reorganization makes Temotu Province an independent province on June 8.

Temotu Province Day FAQs

How many islands does Temotu Province have?

Three. Santa Cruz, Reefs Islands, and the Duff Islands (outer Islands).

How many provinces are in the Solomon Islands?

There are nine administrative areas, or provinces: Central Island, Choiseul, Guadalcanal, Isabel, Makira-Ulawa, Malaita, Renell and Bellona, Temotu and Western Province.

Who is the premier of Temotu?

Hon. Clay Forau is the premier of Temotu.

How to Observe Temotu Province Day

  1. Read up on the history of Solomon Islands

    The Solomon Islands have an interesting history. Go online and search for information on it.

  2. Learn about Temotu Province

    Temotu Province is a wonderful place with a unique culture. Learn more about it.

  3. Visit Choiseul

    If it’s within your means, visit Temotu Province on Temotu Province Day. You’re sure to enjoy it, and if you can’t take the time out for a vacation, take a virtual tour.

5 Interesting Facts About The Solomon Islands

  1. Six major islands

    The Solomon Islands are made of six major islands.

  2. Tropical climate

    The climate of the country is tropical.

  3. Total population

    The total population of the Temotu Islands is just over 500,000 people.

  4. Self-government

    The Solomon Islands achieved self-governance in 1976

  5. Major trading partners

    The country’s major trading partners include Malaysia, Japan, South Korea, Australia, and Taiwan.

Why Temotu Province Day is Important

  1. It’s an important moment in their history

    The reorganization of provinces is an important part of the country’s history. The Solomon Islands have an interesting history. The day is a perfect opportunity to read up on it

  2. It highlights aspirations

    The event marks the realization of the regional aspirations of the people of Temotu Province. Celebrate with them today!

  3. It’s an opportunity to reflect

    We can join Solomon Islanders during this time when they reflect on their achievements and consider any challenges that may lie ahead. It is also a good opportunity to reflect on mistakes made in the past and ensure they don’t happen again.

Temotu Province Day dates

2025June 8Sunday
2026June 8Monday
2027June 8Tuesday
2028June 8Thursday
2029June 8Friday

Holidays Straight to Your Inbox

Every day is a holiday!
Receive fresh holidays directly to your inbox.