Weird National
Holidays

America is a bit of an odd nation, so it’s no wonder it has so many weird national holidays. Enjoy our collection of the most weird, bizarre, and random American celebrations out there — like National Cat Herder Day (Dec 15), National Cook For Your Pets Day (Nov 1), and—our favorite—National Feral Cat Day (Oct 16).

300 Shares
300 Shares
DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 8 Wednesday
National Man Watcher's Day ,
Jan 10 Friday
Quitters Day ,
Jan 13 Monday
National Clean Your Desk Day , ,
Jan 16 Thursday
Appreciate a Dragon Day ,
Jan 19 Sunday
Brew a Potion Day , ,
Jan 21 Tuesday
National Cheesy Socks Day , ,
Jan 23 Thursday
Clashing Clothes Day , ,
Measure Your Feet Day , ,
Snowplow Mailbox Hockey Day , ,
Jan 24 Friday
Belly Laugh Day ,
Jan 27 Monday
Bubble Wrap Appreciation Day ,
Thomas Crapper Day , ,
Jan 29 Wednesday
Curmudgeons Day , ,
Jan 30 Thursday
National Inane Answering Message Day , ,
Jan 31 Friday
Gorilla Suit Day ,
Hell is Freezing Over Day ,
Scotch Tape Day ,
Feb 1 Saturday
Pull Your Sofa Off the Wall Month ,
Feb 4 Tuesday
Create a Vacuum Day ,
Feb 10 Monday
National Poop Day ,
Feb 11 Tuesday
Extraterrestrial Culture Day ,
Feb 15 Saturday
Annoy Squidward Day , ,
St. Skeletor's Day ,
Feb 16 Sunday
Do a Grouch a Favor Day ,
Feb 17 Monday
My Way Day ,
Feb 18 Tuesday
Cow Milked While Flying in an Airplane Day ,
Thumb Appreciation Day , ,
Feb 20 Thursday
National Comfy Day , ,
National Handcuff Day ,
Feb 22 Saturday
International Sword Swallowers Day , ,
Feb 24 Monday
I Hate Coriander Day , ,
Feb 26 Wednesday
For Pete's Sake Day , ,
Mar 1 Saturday
National Hotel Slipper Day ,
National March First Day ,
Mar 2 Sunday
Namesake Day ,
Mar 3 Monday
Fun Facts About Names Day ,
What If Cats and Dogs Had Opposable Thumbs? Day , ,
Mar 5 Wednesday
Kyrgyzstan National Hat Day ,
National Potty Dance Day , ,
Mar 7 Friday
National Middle Name Pride Day , ,
Sock Monkey Day ,
Mar 8 Saturday
Be Nasty Day ,
World's Largest Rattlesnake Roundup , ,
Mar 10 Monday
Festival Of Life In Cracks Day , ,
Fill Our Staplers Day ,
Mar 11 Tuesday
Turkey Vultures Return to the Living Sign ,
Mar 13 Thursday
Ken Day , ,
Mar 15 Saturday
Dumbstruck Day
Everything You Think Is Wrong Day
World Contact Day , ,
Mar 16 Sunday
Everything You Do is Right Day
Mar 20 Thursday
Alien Abduction Day , ,
Mar 22 Saturday
Talk Like William Shakespeare Day , ,
Mar 23 Sunday
Atheist Day , ,
Mar 27 Thursday
Quirky Country Music Song Titles Day ,
Apr 1 Tuesday
St. Stupid Day , ,
Apr 4 Friday
National Walk Around Things Day ,
Apr 6 Sunday
Jump Over Things Day ,
Plan Your Epitaph Day ,
Apr 12 Saturday
Deskfast Day , ,
Apr 14 Monday
Reach As High As You Can Day ,
Apr 15 Tuesday
National Griper's Day , ,
National Rubber Eraser Day ,
Take A Wild Guess Day ,
Apr 16 Wednesday
Teach Your Daughter to Volunteer Day ,
Apr 17 Thursday
Blah Blah Blah Day ,
Apr 20 Sunday
Look Alike Day , ,
Apr 21 Monday
Keep Off the Grass Day , ,
May 3 Friday
Lumpy Rug Day ,
National Paranormal Day , ,
National Two Different Colored Shoes Day , ,
May 8 Wednesday
No Socks Day , ,
May 9 Thursday
Hurray for Buttons Day ,
May 10 Friday
Trust Your Intuition Day ,
May 11 Saturday
O. Henry Pun-off Day ,
May 18 Saturday
Send an Electronic Greeting Card Day , ,
Jun 14 Friday
Monkey Around Day ,
Jul 7 Sunday
Tanabata , ,
Be Nice to New Jersey Week , ,
Jul 9 Tuesday
Call of the Horizon Day , ,
Jul 18 Thursday
Insurance Nerd Day , ,
Jul 20 Saturday
National Ugly Truck Contest Day , ,
Jul 21 Sunday
Invite an Alien to Live with You Day , ,
Jul 22 Monday
NATIONAL RAT CATCHER’S DAY , ,
Jul 27 Saturday
Barbie-in-a-Blender Day , ,
Jul 29 Monday
Cheese Sacrifice Purchase Day , ,
Aug 3 Saturday
Big Forehead Day ,
Clean Your Floors Day , ,
Aug 6 Tuesday
National Wiggle Your Toes Day ,
Aug 16 Friday
Hawaiian Shirt Day ,
Aug 17 Saturday
National I LOVE My feet Day , ,
Aug 18 Sunday
Bad Poetry Day ,
Sep 2 Monday
Bison-ten Yell Day , ,
Sep 9 Monday
National When Pigs Fly Day , ,
Wonderful Weirdos Day , ,
Sep 16 Monday
Stay Away From Seattle Day ,
Sep 22 Sunday
Hobbit Day ,
Sep 23 Monday
National Apple Cider Vinegar Day , ,
National Dogs in Politics Day , ,
Oct 2 Wednesday
National Name Your Car Day ,
Oct 17 Thursday
National Edge Day , ,
Oct 30 Wednesday
Create a Great Funeral Day , ,
Haunted Refrigerator Night , ,
Nov 2 Saturday
Look for Circles Day ,
Nov 19 Tuesday
National Have A Bad Day Day , ,
Nov 21 Thursday
False Confession Day ,
Nov 25 Monday
Blasé Day ,
Dec 8 Sunday
Take it in the Ear Day , ,
Dec 9 Monday
Lost and Found Day ,
Dec 10 Tuesday
Festival for the Souls of Dead Whales , , ,
Dec 12 Thursday
​National Ding-A-Ling Day , ,
Dec 16 Monday
Stupid Toy Day
Dec 18 Wednesday
Wear a Plunger on Your Head Day , ,
Dec 19 Thursday
National Emo Day , ,
Dec 20 Friday
Dot Your I’s Day , ,
Dec 21 Saturday
Don’t Make Your Bed Day ,
Dec 25 Wednesday
A’Phabet Day or No “L” Day ,
Dec 30 Monday
Festival of Enormous Changes at the Last Minute ,
Dec 31 Tuesday
Unlucky Day ,